To improve public safety, alcohol-free zones (AFZs) and alcohol prohibited areas (APAs) are designed to prevent street drinking. This reduces disruptive and anti-social behaviour as well as alcohol-related crime on our streets. Our alcohol-free zones are part of a wider City of Sydney and NSW Police program tackling irresponsible drinking.Special Event Restrictions

Special Events

Temporary APAs are put in place during large special events such as New Year's Eve and Australia Day. These supercede areas identified below where timed restrictions apply.

Alcohol Free Zones

AFZs cover many public roads, footpaths, car parks and laneways. Drinking alcohol in these areas is prohibited 24 hours per day.

Police and our rangers can confiscate and dispose of alcohol in these places. Anyone refusing to co-operate, can be charged with obstruction, carrying penalties up to $2,200.

Alcohol Prohibited Areas

APAs cover, public parks, beaches and reserves and restriction times can vary as shown in the table below. This means having opened containers of alcohol in these areas is banned during these times. While AFZs are periodically reviewed, Alcohol Prohibited Areas have no end date.

 Alcohol Prohibited Times
Apex Park, Mona Vale8pm to 8am
Avalon Beach Reserve and Des Creagh Reserve, Avalon8pm to 8am
Boondah Reserve, Warriewood8pm to 8am
Dunbar Park, Avalon 9pm to 9am
East Esplanade, Manly 8pm to 8am
Kitchener Park, Mona Vale8pm to 8am
North Narrabeen Reserve (excluding Pittwater Rugby Park)8pm to 8am
Porters Reserve, Newport8pm to 8am
Spurway Park, Newport8pm to 8am
Village Park, Mona Vale 10pm to 10am
Warriewood Valley Sports Field, Warriewood8pm to 8am

Alcohol-Prohibited 24 hrs

Avalon Village (see map)24 hours
Belrose/Frenchs Forest (in the vicinity of Glenrose Shopping centre)24 hours
Church Point Wharf Area (see map)24 hours
Collaroy CBD Pittwater Rd24 hours
Dee Why CBD24 hours
Fisher Rd North in the vicinity of Cromer Community Centre24 hours
Forest Way Frenchs Forest (in the vicinity of the bus stops outside Forest Way Shopping Centre)24 hours
Forestville (in vicinity of Forestville Shopping Centre)24 hours
Gilbert Park, Manly24 hours
Governor Phillip Lookout Beacon Hill24 hours
Ivanhoe Park and Manly Oval24 hours
Kangaroo Park, Manly24 hours
Kelpa Place, Allambie Heights (beside Allambie Heights Public School)24 hours
Lagoon Park, Manly24 hours
Manly Beach and beachfront reserves Queenscliff to South Steyne24 hours
Manly CBD24 hours
Manly West beaches and parks24 hours
Marine Parade, Manly24 hours
Mona Vale Village (see map)24 hours
Narrabeen (adjacent to and east of Narrabeen Lagoon)24 hours
Narrabeen Lagoon Reserve (in the public open space between Loftus and Wellington Street)24 hours
Newport Residential Area (see map)24 hours
Newport Village (see map)24 hours
North end of Lagoon Street, Narrabeen24 hours
Pittwater Road, Brookvale (in the vicinity of the bus stops outside Warringah Mall)24 hours
Queenscliff Headland24 hours
Shelly Beach, Manly24 hours
Sorlie Place Frenchs Forest (behind Forest Way Shopping Centre)24 hours
Thomas Stephens Reserve, Church Point (Except Friday through Sunday and public holidays 3pm to 9pm)24 hours
Walter Gors Park, Dee Why24 hours