Each year Northern Beaches Council celebrates and recognises outstanding contributions from local residents and events through our annual Australia Day Awards. 

Nominations for the 2023 Awards are now open. 

Nominations close at midnight, Monday 31 October 2022. Award winners will be announced in a private ceremony to be held on 25 January 2023. 


  • Citizen of the Year
  • Senior Citizen of the Year (65 years and over)
  • Young Citizen of the Year (under 25 years)
  • Outstanding Community Service Awards 
  • Sportsperson of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year 

Steps to making a nomination

Read these helpful documents before beginning your nomination.

  1. Guidelines and Criteria
  2. Nomination form - questions to expect
  3. Register for an account (Note - if you made a nomination last year, you will already have an account, so just login to start a new nomination)

There are three different nomination forms to choose from:

  • General category - use this form to nominate someone in any of the following categories:
    Citizen of the Year; Senior Citizen of the Year; Young Citizen of the Year; Outstanding Community Service Awards
  • Sportsperson of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year 

Assessment Panel Expression of Interest

We are seeking Expressions of Interest from local residents, to fill community representative positions on the 2023 Australia Day Awards Assessment Panel. Please visit our Expression of Interest page for more information. 

More information

Please contact Belinda Van Den Berg on 02 8495 6564 or for more information about the Australia Day Awards. 

If you would like to be notified when next year's Australia Day Awards nominations open, please complete our notification form.

Honour Roll

We congratulate our past Australia Day Award winners and thank them for the outstanding contributions they have made to the community.

Read more detail about the award recipients.