On behalf of everyone on the Northern Beaches, we congratulate our Australia Day Award winners and thank them for the outstanding contributions they have made to the community.

The awards acknowledge special individuals and event organisers who make a difference in our community across several award categories. This year a new category was introduced - Community Group of the Year and for the first time ever the Outstanding Achievement Award was open to non-Australian citizens.

The awards were presented at a ceremony presided over by Northern Beaches Mayor Sue Heins at Glen Street Theatre on Thursday 25 January 2024.

Australia Day 2024 Award winners

Jimmy Arteaga - Citizen of the year

Citizen of the Year

Jimmy Arteaga, Forestville

Jimmy Arteaga is Unit Commander for Broken Bay Marine Rescue. In the past year, he has overseen the rescue of many vessels and people in the Pittwater/Broken Bay area, bringing them to safety. Along with being responsible for the 90+ volunteers that belong to the Broken Bay Unit.

Jimmy's role as unit commander in saving lives on our busy local waterways deserves recognition alone. However, in the past year, his drive and dedication has enabled Marine Rescue Broken Bay to have a wonderful new state of the art building now in keeping with the rest of Marine Rescue facilities in NSW.

Jimmy proudly commands the unit with great respect from all members and has formed a team of experts, taking care of each watch over weekends with extra shifts at holiday times. Jimmy has overseen successful assistance on Sydney Harbour New Years Eve every year.

Aileen Ogilvie Honour Roll 2024

Senior Citizen of the Year

Aileen Ogilvie, North Narrabeen

Aileen has been volunteering on the Northern Beaches for 37 years starting off as a Lifeline Counsellor. She mentored vulnerable teenagers in high schools all along the Northern Beaches for over 21 years with Raise, also mentoring Foster kids in their homes.

Aileen has been on the Community Drug Action Team (CDAT) for 22 years and represents them at the Council Safety Advisory Committee bringing attention to local drug and alcohol issues, and the effect of vaping on young people.

Aileen is Vice President, ‘Kindness Officer’ and founding member of MoWaNa a Northern Beaches Safe Space. MoWaNa is a peer led non-clinical community-based service to support people who are experiencing emotional or suicidal distress, operating a safe space three nights a week at The Mind Cafe.

Aileen also does ‘Coffee with Kindness’ two mornings a week at the Mind Cafe, providing a safe place for people to get support or have a coffee and a chat which can often change a person’s life.

Lachlan O' Callaghan Honour Roll 2024

Young Citizens of the Year

Lachlan O’Callaghan and Cooper Morgan

Lachlan O’Callaghan from Narrabeen Sports High and Cooper Morgan from Northern Beaches Christian School displayed leadership in a rescue operation that saved a life.

While working at The Quays Marina, Church Point, Lachlan and Cooper were ferrying customers back from a vessel, which was moored at the marina, when they heard a man calling frantically for help.

Utilising the training they had received from the marina and the skills they had learned from nippers in Surf Life Saving, the quick and selfless actions of these two young men led to the rescue of a member of the public.

These two men showed maturity and skills beyond their ages, staying calm and reacting assertively in a stressful situation.

Image: Lachlan O'Collaghan

Representative of Ben Tudhope - Honour Roll 2024

Sportsperson of the Year

Ben Tudhope

Ben Tudhope is a 3 x Paralympic Snowboarder. Beijing 2022 Bronze Medallist, 2023 World Champion, 6 x World Cup Champion and Co-captain of the Australian Paralympic Team.

He holds the record of being the youngest ever Winter Paralympian, competing at the 2014 Paralympics which he was 14.

Ben was born with hemiplegic cerebral palsy, affecting coordination and muscle movement on the left side of his body.  

Whilst there were always physical setbacks, Ben always found a way to overcome them and is now competing in the hardest category in his sport - below the knee disability - and is one of the most naturally talented boarders on tour.

Image: Representative of Ben Tudhope

Beach2Beach Community Event Year - Honour Roll 2024

Community Event of the Year 

BEACH2BEACH Charity Fun Run

Presented by Rotary Club of Warringah Inc

The BEACH2BEACH Charity Fun Run, previously known as the Pub2Pub Charity Fun Run, is an annual event open to all abilities and ages. It encourages the community to be involved, get healthy, exercise and have fun.

This event started 30 years ago by the Bayfield family and for over 15 years has been organised by the Rotary Club of Warringah as an annual event on the Northern Beaches. The aim is to keep growing, showcasing our beautiful beaches and surrounds.

Since its inception, the Beach2Beach has donated over 5 million dollars back to local community organisations, including schools, SLSC, scouts and many charities all benefitting from this wonderful event.

Manly CWA Community Group of the Year - Honour Roll 2024

Community Group of the Year

Manly Branch of the Country Women’s Association of NSW

The Manly branch of The Country Women’s Association (CWA) celebrated 100 years of supporting the Northern Beaches community in 2023. The CWA of NSW is Australia's largest women's organisation and aims to improve conditions for country women and their families. The association lobbies for change, helping the local communities by creating a support network and meeting in towns and cities.

The Manly branch has been a steadfast pillar of support for the local community. Over the years, they have demonstrated resilience and flexibility to address the pressing issues of the times. Whether it be providing support through significant events such as war or fostering community connections, they have exemplified a commitment to the Northern Beaches community. Currently, the Manly branch holds monthly meetings and free events, market stalls, and how-to classes to teach new skills and raise funds to donate back to the community.

Outstanding Community Service Awards

David Price - Honour Roll 2024

David Price, Balgowlah Heights

David is awarded for his volunteer contribution in Surf Life Saving for Freshwater SLSC and has actively been involved since 2008.

Denver J Bevan - Honour Roll 2024

Denver J Beven, Queenscliff

Denver has been awarded for his outstanding contribution in bush regeneration since 2001 as well as history of volunteering with surf lifesaving.

Gary Searles Honour Roll 2024

Gary Searles, Bilgola Plateau 

Gary is awarded for his dedication to cricket across the Northern Beaches and his encouragement of local women in the game.

John Diamond Honour Roll 2024

John Diamond, Terrey Hills

John is awarded for outstanding leadership for the Lions Club of Frenchs Forest.

Jon Russell Honour Roll 2024

Jon Russell, Cottage Point 

Jon is awarded for his dedication volunteering at Cottage Point and his tireless efforts to secure funding for a telecommunications tower to aid the area during emergencies.

Kelly Barr Jones- Honour Roll 2024

Kelly Barr-Jones, Allambie Heights 

Kelly is awarded for her dedication to diversity and inclusion at Forest High School and Allambie Heights Public School.

Marilinda Winter Honour Roll 2024

Marilinda Winter, Narraweena 

Marilinda is awarded for her dedication to community sport and coaching football across various clubs on the Northern Beaches including her support for female players staying in the game.

Terry Cook Honour Roll 2024

Terry Cook, Ingleside 

Terry is the main coordinator and contact for Peninsula Seniors Toy Recyclers and he works tirelessly to ensure the refurbishment of many thousands of toys, games, dolls and bicycles, for reuse by various charities.