

Minutes of an Extraordinary Meeting of Warringah Council held on Wednesday, 12 October 2011 at the Civic Centre, Dee Why, Commencing at 6.00pm

ATTENDANCE

Members

Cr M Regan (Mayor), Cr J Sutton (Deputy Mayor) and Crs J Falinski, R Giltinan, Dr C Kirsch, V Laugesen, M Ray and Dr H Wilkins.

Officers

A/General Manager (M Ryan), Director Corporate Services (J Warburton), A/Director Strategic and Development Services (D Kerr), Team Leader Media and Content (B Noble), Team Leader Governance (M Lee), Coordinator Governance (A Moore) and IM&T Support Officer (D Mishra).

NOTES

The meeting commenced at 6.01pm and concluded at 6.20pm.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

The Business of the meeting was dealt with in the following order:

Items 1.0, 2.0 and 3.1.

1.0 APOLOGIES

Apologies for non-attendance was received from Cr Harris and Cr De Luca.

282/11 RESOLVED

Cr Regan / Cr Kirsch

That the apology from Cr Harris be received.

VOTING

For the resolution:	Crs Falinski, Giltinan, Kirsch, Laugesen, Ray, Regan, Sutton and Wilkins.
Against the resolution:	Nil.

283/11 RESOLVED

Cr Laugesen / Cr Ray

That the apology from Cr De Luca be received.

VOTING

For the resolution:Crs Falinski, Giltinan, Kirsch, Laugesen, Ray, Regan, Sutton
and Wilkins.

Against the resolution: Nil.

2.0 DECLARATION OF PECUNIARY AND CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Nil.

3.0 STRATEGIC AND DEVELOPMENT SERVICES DIVISION REPORT

3.1 Changes to the Local Government Act 1993 – Ward and Councillor Numbers

(BP REF 1)

284/11 RESOLVED

Cr Regan / Cr Sutton

- A. That as a result of changes to the Local Government Act 1993, Council seek public comment for a period of 42 days in respect to:
 - I. abolishing all wards within Warringah Council;
 - II. that should wards be abolished, what is the preferred number of councillors
 - III. maintaining the current structure; retaining three (3) wards, three (3)Councillors in each ward and a popularly elected Mayor;
- B. That the results be reported back to Council.

VOTING

For the resolution:	Crs Falinski,	Giltinan.	Regan.	Sutton	and Wilkin	s.
		Ontiniun,	rtogun,	Outton		υ.

Against the resolution: Crs Kirsch, Laugesen and Ray.

The meeting concluded at 6.20pm.

This is the final page of the Minutes comprising (3) pages numbered (1) to (3) of extraordinary meeting 2011/15 of Warringah Council held on 12 October 2011 and confirmed on 22 November 2011.

Mayor

General Manager